Blue Blanket

27 Jul

I wrote this for my Liberal Arts Course. We’d had to discuss a memory we had in class and then we had make up a story keeping the essence of that memory in mind. 

BLUE BLANKET – PRIYANKA MEHTA 

I risked a look over the railing and immediately stepped back. The ocean lay like a blue blanket, hiding the life it contained within its folds. Not knowing what was hidden from me made my heart thump harder. I walked towards the captain of the boat whose smile was contagious enough to make me feel safe.

My greatest hobby was to swim. But waters, which weren’t clear or too deep for me to see the bottom, made me nervous. I imagined dark, twisted creatures lurking in the depths of the vast ocean, waiting for anyone who dared to dip their toes into the cool water.

I never expected what was to come next. Apparently my younger brother thought to do the same as I had just done, to lean over the railing and look at the water. He leaned too far and he fell right in. A splash alarmed us all and being the protective sister I was, I jumped straight in to save him knowing fully well that he hadn’t learnt how to swim. The boat had been moving at a great speed so I had to swim away from it to reach where he had fallen. As saltwater blinded me, thoughts of some creature touching my unguarded feet made me panic. I heard splashes of others diving in to rescue us but I was a faster swimmer. I felt like I was drowning as I reached for my brother’s hand. Fear spread through my body like I was getting electrocuted. My brother’s screams cut through my thoughts and bought me back to why I risked jumping in. I kicked hard to stay out of the water and managed to get him on my back. Forcing my fears out of my mind, I swam to the boat where the others helped us up.

Once safely on the boat, I sat there shaking for the longest time. I conquered my fear in a strange way to save someone I cared for. I felt a sudden peace wash over me. After everyone fussed over us, and we were in dry clothes again, I sat on deck and let the wind play my hair.

FIN.

Leave a Reply

